About Us

Greetings from The Cottage !

Meet the family


I'm Cheri and my Mr. is Kirk -- known throughout this blog as DIY GUY or Mr. D.

We are 50-something nearly empty nesters.


Our Wild One, Cara, and her hubby, Tim 
were married in August 2011 (at our home) and live in Cincinnati, OH


Our boy recently graduated from college is looking for a FT teaching job while he substitute teaches in Rochester and lives at The Cottage with us.


Our Baby Girl, Danae, graduated in December, 2011 and is also looking for a full-time teaching position while she substitute teaches in Rochester.  
She also lives at The Cottage with us.

Our kids


Cara & Tim

The Boy
Nate


Our Baby Girl
Danae Joy


All three of our offspring were born during President Reagan's 2nd term as President.
Yep, the kiddos are very close in age.

Nate (1987), Cara, our Wild One (1986), and Danae Joy our "Baby Girl" (1988)
no kidding - 1986, 1987, 1988 !

We've lived in Rochester, Minnesota since 1992.
We moved here from Upstate New York.
Mr. D and I grew up in Northwest Indiana... in a suburb of Chicago.


We call our home "The Cottage".
The Cottage because, we feel like we are living in a cottage.  




A place to get away from the world, to kick back, to have friends over for parties, 




relaxing by the pool, 
or for a quiet escape and a cup of coffee.
It's home.




We have two dogs too...
This is Gabby
She's an XL Yorkshire Terrier


And this is Nike.
We adopted him from Camp Campanion in August, 2011
Our best guess on his breed is a Norwich Terrier.




We have chickens at The Cottage too




The variety often changes in the spring of each year when 
new chicks arrive on the scene -- and non-layers are retired.


I love cooking, baking and trying new recipes
I don't like grocery shopping or making grocery lists.


I love decorating our cottage
which continually changes as I recreate the rooms --
with different room arrangements, colors and furniture.
and I do not fear change.


I love entertaining and spending time with good friends


My dream job would be helping people decorate and 
create homes they love coming home to.


I work part-time at a camp.
That's what pays the bills and keeps me off the streets!